skip navigation

Potomac Valley Amateur Hockey Association, Inc.

PVAHA is the governing body of all amateur hockey within D.C., Maryland and Virginia, and is one of four Affiliates that make up the Southeastern District of USA Hockey.


  • PVAHA Statement on COVID-19

  • 03/13/2020, 4:00pm EDT , By PVAHA Board of Directors
  • USA Hockey has canceled all National Championships, including youth, girls, high school, adult and sled, that were to begin at various locations around the country starting on March 26th...
  • Read More


March 2020

Player Development

All PVAHA and Southeastern District Player Development tryouts for 2020 have been canceled. The cancellation also includes the Boys 14 Summer Camp that is held at Kent State University. Any registration fees paid at the time of registration for player development tryouts will be refunded in the near future.

America's Showcase St. Louis

Both the Boys and Girls divisions have been canceled.

Call for Nominations — PVAHA Board of Directors

March 1, 2020

The call for nominations letter was sent to each Associations Registrar on March 1st. Please see the document below for the process to nominate someone. All nominations must be postmarked or emailed to Bob Otte by Saturday, March 31, 2020.

USA Hockey/PVAHA Roster Requirements

All Rosters:

  • Coaches and Managers require Safe Sport and a aackground screen prior to roster approval.
  • Coaches must have successfully completed the correct Age Appropriate Module prior to being approved and added to the roster. They have until December 31 to complete a coaching clinic if required.

All Tier I, Tier II, Travel and Invitational Tournament Rosters:

  • Date of birth and citizenship must be verified prior to approval.
  • A Manager must be identified on the roster. In the absence of a designated Manager, a Coach may be designated as a Coach/Manager.
  • Non-U.S. Citizens require a Transfer before they can be added to any roster.

Questions may be directed to Bob Otte or Beth Lenz. See contact info on the "Registration" tab on the left sidebar.